SJ Athletic Hall of Fame

Every two years, the Hall of Fame Committee selects athletes and coaches from each decade for induction into the Saint John’s Athletic Hall of Fame. During the Hall of Fame Dinner and Reception, a recipient of the Bruce S. Kopka '71 Memorial Alumni Award for courage, perseverance and character is also recognized.
In the long history of Saint John’s there have been many outstanding athletic teams, many outstanding athletes, and many dedicated coaches who have demonstrated the character and pursuit of excellence associated with Saint John’s High School. In considering these achievements, one can understand what a difficult task that faces the selection committee and how justly proud these inductees, their families, friends, teammates and classmates can be.

Members of the Athletic Hall of Fame Class of 2017

Timothy J. Cooney ’58, Basketball
John J. Lahey ’66, Basketball
John F. Gillis ’67, Baseball
Michael L. Blute ’69, Football, Track
James J. Stewart ’74, Hockey
James M. Quinlivan ’81, Football, Basketball, Track
Thomas J. Stuczynski ’83, Football, Basketball, Track
Kevin M. Hester ’84, Golf
Michael J. Gaffney ’94, Hockey, Baseball
John M. ‘Jay’ Foley Coach - Crew

Timothy R. Potter '71 received The Bruce S. Kopka '71 Memorial Alumni Award.

See all pictures from the 2017 Induction ceremony and dinner.
These individuals have demonstrated the character and pursuit of excellence associated with Saint John’s High School and Pioneer Athletics.

2015 Inductees

  • Charles E. Carr '59 Basketball, Golf
  • Francis J. Fitzgibbons '60 Football, Track
  • Anthony H. Trocki '60 Football, Track
  • James M. Grady '76 Baseball, Football
  • David R. Massucco '76 Football, Track
  • Glenn T. Melia '84 Soccer
  • John M. Clifford '91, Football, Baseball
  • Christopher I. Geougules '91 Cross Country, Track
  • Jason J. Grochowalski '98, Basketball, Track
Theodore F. Beriau '71 received the Bruce S. Kopka '71 Memorial Alumni Award.

2017 Photo Gallery

Athletic Hall of Fame Induction

Requirements for Hall of Fame Consideration

  1. Coach must forward names of candidates along with statistics supporting their choice(s).
  2. Candidates are eligible for consideration ten years after the end of the decade of their graduation from Saint John's.
  3. The Hall of Fame Committee votes from among all candidates and sports within a decade: (1950-1959, 1960-1969, 1970-1979, 1980-1989, 1990-1999).