17 Saint John's Seniors Named Commended Students in 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program

September 25, 2019


Shrewsbury, MA --- The Principal, Margaret Granados, of Saint John’s High School announced today that seventeen Saint John’s students have been named Commended Students in the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program. A Letter of Commendation from the school and National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC), which conducts the program, was presented by the principal to these scholastically talented seniors. 

The seventeen Saint John’s seniors named Commended Students by the National Merit Scholarship Program are (in alphabetical order): Joseph Bafaro, Andrew Eppinger, Dawei Huo, Jan Jacob, Navnit Kukreja, Xavier Morales, Timothy Newman, Vinh Nguyen, Cullen O’Connell, Noble Paul, Rishav Sarma, Jeffrey Secrist, Lucas Silva, Varun Subbiah, Vasant Sundaresan, Surya Suresh, and Samuel Sziklas.

About 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise. Although they will not continue in the 2020 competition for National Merit Scholarship awards, Commended Students placed among the top 50,000 scorers of more than 1.5 million students who entered the 2020 competition by taking the 2018 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®). 

“Those being named Commended Students have demonstrated outstanding potential for academic success,” commented a spokesperson for NMSC. “These students represent a valuable national resource; recognizing their accomplishments, as well as the key role their schools play in their academic development, is vital to the advancement of educational excellence in our nation. We hope that this recognition will help broaden their educational opportunities and encourage them as they continue to pursuit of academic success.”